Things to do in South Devon - All year round

South Devon has so much to offer at any time of year, come rain or shine - here's some ideas to whet your appetite.

SPRING

Have lunch in Totnes and photograph the remains of the Norman 14th century motte and bailey castle.

Spend the day strolling round the Art Deco Coleton Fishacre house and gardens www.nationaltrust.org.uk/coleton-fishacre
Have a cocktail at sunset at the Berry Head Hotel www.berryheadhotel.com
Enjoy a round of golf at Churston Golf Club www.churstongolf.com
Sample delicious award winning Devon wines at Sharpham Vineyard www.sharpham.com
Buy freshly caught fish for dinner from Brixham Fish Market www.davidwalkerandson.com
Take the kids to Occombe Farm and explore the nature trail www.countryside-trust.org.uk/occombe
Explore Greenway, Agatha Christie's “loveliest place in the world” www.nationaltrust.org.uk/greenway
Visit the marble museum and marvel at the wonderful collection of marble runs www.houseofmarbles.com
Stroll Cockington Village and have lunch listening to the pianist at the beautiful Rose Cottage Tea Rooms 
Take your binoculars to Berry Head National Nature Reserve and spot amazing wildlife www.countryside-trust.org.uk/berryhead

SUMMER

Go fruit picking at Oak Tree Gardens, Ashprington www.pickyourownashprington.co.uk
Visit the 'haunted' ruins of Berry Pomeroy Castle www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/berry-pomeroy-castle
Try stand up paddleboarding or coasteering with Reach Outdoors www.reach-outdoors.com
Spend the day at ‘Family Attraction of the Year’ seven years running, Crealy Adventure Park & Resort www.crealy.co.uk
Take the kids to see the Babboon Breakfast at Paignton zoo www.paigntonzoo.org.uk
Go geocaching along the stunning South West Coast Path www.southwestcoastpath.org.uk
Enjoy the regatta in Dartmouth www.dartmouthregatta.co.uk

Explore 50 acres of stunning woodlands surrounding the spectacular 70ft Becky Falls waterfall www.beckyfalls.com
Visit Brixham and have the tastiest fish and chips in the area at Rockfish www.therockfish.co.uk
Take a circular river cruise along the River Dart www.dartmouthrailriver.co.uk
Enjoy a delicious Dartmouth Ice Cream www.dartmouthicecream.com


AUTUMN

Have lunch with the seals at Living Coasts, Torquay www.livingcoasts.org.uk
Take your toddlers to Pennywell Farm, Buckfastleigh www.pennywellfarm.co.uk
Watch the sun go down in the hot tub at The Penthouse Goodrington Lodge.
Learn to kayak in Goodrington, Torbay with Reach Outdoors www.reach-outdoors.com
Enjoy a ride on horseback across the beautiful Dartmoor scenery www.dartmoorstables.com
Visit Babbacombe Model Village evening illuminations www.model-village.co.uk
Sample superb Devon beef or Lyme Bay lobster at the Cary Arms in Babbacombe www.caryarms.co.uk
Take a stroll round picturesque Stoke Gabriel and try Sunday lunch at The Castle Inn www.thecastleinnstokegabriel.co.uk
Have a Michelin-starred meal at The Orange Tree Restaurant, Torquay www.orangetreerestaurant.com
Enjoy a Cream Tea at The Cantina in Young's Park www.cantinagoodrington.co.uk

WINTER

Dine at The Cott Inn (1320), Dartington, one of the oldest thatched inns in Britain www.cottinn.co.uk
Educate yourself at Dartmouth Museum housed in a rich merchants’ house (1640) www.dartmouthmuseum.org

Explore Cockington Court and buy handmade truffles at Cockington Chocolate Company www.cockingtonchocolate.co.uk

Take a step back in time and visit Bygones, Torquay www.bygones.co.uk
Wrap up warm and explore the gardens at Coleton Fishacre aglow with festive light www.nationaltrust.org.uk/coleton-fishacre
Go trampolining at Devon's first trampoline park in Newton Abbott www.i-bounce.co.uk/devon-trampoline-park
Climb aboard the Santa Express steam train at Paignton www.dsrrbchristmas.co.uk/santa-express
Stroll around the shops and have hot chocolate at Breakwater Bistro in Brixham www.brixham-restaurant.co.uk
Take a tour of the Bays brewery and sample some local beers, Paignton www.baysbrewery.co.uk
Tour the prehistoric caves at Kents Cavern, Torquay www.kents-cavern.co.uk
See in the New Year with fancy dress and fireworks by the Royal Castle Hotel, Dartmouth

The Penthouse Goodrington Lodge South Devon Logo

Please feel free to get in touch with me on the number below or send an email if you have any questions, I'd be more than happy to help. Thank you, Diane.

 

Tel: 01803 640876 | Email: mydevonholidays@gmail.com

 

The Penthouse Goodrington Lodge, 23 Alta Vista Road, Paignton, Devon TQ4 6DA

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© mydevonholidays 2019  |  All rights reserved
Site design by: Diane

The Weather in Paignton

The weather today in Paignton

Sign up for Late Offers